Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

We’ve put together a list of our most commonly asked questions to give you more information about our protein energy bars. If you have a question and can’t find an answer, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

You can find out which retailers sell our TREK Protein Bars using our handy Buy Now feature, where you can also buy online. If you’re on the go and looking for TREK bars in your local area, check our Where to Buy page.

Alternatively, a selection of the full TREK range of products are widely available in Boots, Holland & Barrett, Planet Organic, Wholefoods, WHSmith Travel, as well as the best independent health food shops.

We direct all our trade customers to our Wholesale Distributors. For more information on becoming a trade customer please contact our sales support team.

Unfortunately, we do not have a shop at Natural Balance Foods Ltd, TREK HQ. You can buy TREK bars online here.

In creating our Protein Nut Bar range, we fundamentally wanted to ensure they taste great! To achieve this, we have loaded each of our four nut-based bars with delicious natural ingredients, all carefully chosen for slow release energy to help you get the best out of your day.

We also wanted to guarantee consistency across the range, so you can be sure each flavour has: 10g of plant-based protein, less than 5g of sugar and is high in fibre. Each bar is also vegan and gluten-free.

Oligofructose is found naturally in foods like chicory root, asparagus, bananas, artichokes, garlic, onions, wheat, barley, rye and many others. It is a type of carbohydrate, classed as a soluble dietary fibre, which is broken down in the large intestine where it feeds the gut-friendly bacteria. It therefore acts as a prebiotic, providing many health benefits. Oligofructose doesn’t cause sugar spikes and, due to its high fibre content, keeps you feeling fuller for longer.

Our natural flavourings are simply all-natural flavours derived from fruit, vegetables, herbs or plants and are suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

Our bars have low moisture content and we have carefully selected ingredients known for their stability over shelf life. This, together with the extremely high quality, well-sealed packaging we use ensures the products remain at their very best.

The cardboard packaging for our TREK bars is 100% recyclable, biodegradable and made with wood from a sustainable forest.

Our bars film packaging is not currently recyclable. This is something we’re looking into very seriously in order to find a suitable material that has a neutral overall effect on the environment and the necessary barrier properties needed to protect the quality of our bars.

To date, we have not managed to find a supplier where the material used is manufactured in a way that produces less carbon impact than the lifecycle of the non-recyclable film we currently use. We are currently investigating a number of industry wide incentives in order for us to tackle this issue. Hopefully we will be able to have a plan in place within the next 12 months.

If you have any suggestions, do contact us.

Currently we do not source Fair Trade or organic ingredients. This is mainly due to production costs and the difficulties of sourcing these ingredients. It is tricky to tick all the boxes and keep the prices reasonable enough for our customers. We are working hard to find a way to use Fair Trade and/or organic ingredients in the future.

Our Protein Nut bars contain less than 5g of sugar per 40g bar which, when combined with the 10g of protein and high fibre content, results in slow absorption and digestion of any available sugars. However, we are not able to advise exactly on individual dietary requirements, so please consider if the bars are suitable based on your individual circumstances.

Nutritional information is displayed on each product page on our website. Simply click on the product you want more information on.

Yes, all TREK bars are gluten-free. They’re vegan too!

We can confirm that our Protein Nut Bars are vegan and do not contain any ingredients of animal origin.

We voluntarily declare ‘may contain milk’ on our packaging because there may be a chance of cross-contamination. This is due to some of the ingredients used in our bars being processed in factories where other products are made.

As milk is an allergen, we wish to ensure the relevant information is provided to our customers so they can make informed decisions as to whether they purchase our products. To find out more on why we declare ‘may contain milk’, please visit The Vegan Society link which may be of interest.